There are a number of awards to congratulate, encourage and acknowledge accomplished science educators and students who excel at science. Below is a list of some of the awards available for highly accomplished teachers of science, as well as some awards that recognise contributions to science education from businesses, organisations and members of the community outside of academic staff, and some that recognise excellent science knowledge in students.

ASTA supports awards that recognise the importance of science education and learning, so if you know of any awards you think should be included in this list, please let us know.

The Prime Minister's Prizes for Science

The nation's most prestigious and highly regarded awards for excellence in science and science teaching. Nominations for the 2018 Prizes closed on 26 March. For further details click here.

BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards

The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering awards are Australia's most prestigious school science awards. They include Student Awards for young people who have undertaken practical research projects, which demonstrate innovative approaches and thorough scientific procedures, and Teacher Awards recognising outstanding contributions made by classroom teachers to science education. The awards are a partnership between the BHP Foundation, CSIRO and ASTA. For further details go to

Ruth Dircks ASTA Scholarship to CONASTA

The Ruth Dircks Scholarship is available to assist ASTA members to attend the annual Australian Science Teachers Association conference, CONASTA. Each scholarship covers the cost of early bird registration, travel and accommodation. Details at

State and Territory Science Teacher Associations Awards

Each of the State Associations run a number of awards throughout the year. Visit their websites for more information.

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of research and innovation, leadership and commercialisation, school science, and science journalism and communication. Details at




Further Information