About the ruth dircks Scholarship

The Ruth Dircks Scholarship is an initiative designed to promote the attendance and participation of Australian teachers at CONASTA each year.

Ruth Dircks is a Life Member of the Australian Science Teachers Association (ASTA) and a Past President of ASTA. She has been a very strong supporter of the Association and still attends the annual conference of ASTA (CONASTA) regularly.

In 2002, Ruth was the inaugural winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools and was awarded $35,000. Ruth generously donated this money to ASTA for the provision of an annual scholarship to CONASTA. ASTA named this scholarship the Ruth Dircks ASTA Scholarships to CONASTA in her honour.

Each year a small number of teachers are supported to attend CONASTA, wherever it may be held in Australia. The teachers’ in-person registration costs are funded through this scholarship.

Megan Hayes and Grant Pusey receive their Ruth Dircks Scholarship from Ruth Dircks at CONASTA 66 in Hobart, 2017.

How to apply for a Ruth Dircks Scholarship

Applications have now closed for 2024.

Apply for a Ruth Dircks Scholarship and see what all the CONASTA fuss is about! Applicants must complete an application form (link below). 

Are you eligible?

Applicants must comply with the following criteria to be adjudged eligible for this award:

  1. Reside outside the regional area in which CONASTA is being held that year (approx. 200 km radius).
  2. Have not attended more than two CONASTAs previously.
  3. Be a financial member of a State or Territory Science Teachers Association. 

Applicants are assessed according to their answers to three key questions:

1. What involvement have you had, and what involvement do you currently have with your State/Territory
Science Teachers Association, and/or other ASTA programs or initiatives?
2. How would you personally benefit from this CONASTA experience?
3. How would you use this experience to benefit your wider networks ie: colleagues, peers, students?

Applications for the 2024 Ruth Dircks Scholarship have now closed. Please check back in 2025.

If you have any questions about the Scholarship, please email asta@asta.edu.au or call 0428 219 438.

Contact Us

Phone : 0428 219 438
Email : asta@asta.edu.au
Post :  PO Box 334, Deakin West ACT 2600

Our Partners

Copyright © 2023 | ABN: 87 902 882 824

The Australian Science Teachers Association acknowledges the First Nations peoples of Australia as the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we work and live. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and future and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.